LEARN, GROW, CONNECT





The East-West Center Graduate Degree Fellowship provides up to two years of master's or doctoral funding for graduate students from Asia, the Pacific, and the United States to participate in educational, cultural, residential community building, and leadership development programs at the East-West Center while pursuing graduate study at the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa (UHM).

The East-West Center Graduate Degree Fellowship begins in early- to mid-August with the Community Building Institute (CBI), which includes time for advising and registration at the University of Hawai'i. All incoming EWC students are required to participate in this initial program, including those who are currently residing in Hawai'i.

EWC fellowships provide much more than funding. They equip and transform students into emerging leaders with the relationships and regional literacy required to meet the evolving demands of global change.



EWC graduate students live, learn, and work together, engaging in student-led programs that promote cross-cultural and interdisciplinary problem solving. Graduate Degree Fellows are a select cohort dedicated to academic excellence, public service, and positive change in the Indo-Pacific region.

The Graduate Degree Fellowship covers:

- · General tuition and fees
- · Housing
- Books
- · Health insurance
- · Modest living stipend

In addition to the merit-based fellowship, supplemental funding is available on a need basis.

Individuals who are citizens of countries/ territories listed below may apply for the East-West Center Graduate Degree Fellowship:

- United States
- Pacific Region: American Samoa,
 Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of
 Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam,
 Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New
 Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Northern
 Marianas, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa,
 Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu,
 Vanuatu, Wallis & Futuna Islands
- Southeast Asia: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam
- South Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
- East Asia: China, Hong Kong, Japan, Macau, Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, Russia, Taiwan